Dancing Pencils

In the silence of this room
The stillness of this air
The ruffling of these papers
The shuffling of anxious feet
The movement of eager hands
The glances of roving eyes
I cast my eyes upwards

Troubled by a simple question
Baffled by its existence on this sheet
Dumbfounded by what it expects from me
Confused by what I assume it means
Disappointed that I have no answer
I laugh a silent empty laugh

In the silence of this room
The stillness of this air
The ruffling of these papers
Pens dance seductively across paper
Mine lays still
Waiting for my guidance
I cast my eyes upwards

I know nothing
After all
I am but a pencil in His hands

9 thoughts on “Dancing Pencils

  1. Nice piece 👏🏼👏🏼

    Been a victim of such situation a lot times .. Funny most times ..

    Good diction ..
    More inspiration man !

    Like

Leave a Reply

