My Own Box

Black
Is that a color?
The absence of color?
That’s all I see
I really don’t care which it is.

Cold
Is it a sensation?
The absence of heat?
That’s all I feel
I really don’t care which it is.

Trapped in this box
My mind
Those are my friends
The blackness, the cold

The blackness consumes me
The cold warms me
There’s no way out
Do I want out?

Outside is too warm
They smile a lot
Not really smiling
Just hatching an evil plot

Outside is too bright
They pry too much
Not really caring
Just waiting for your fall

The blackness is my friend
It doesn’t want to know
I don’t want it to know
We get along too well

The cold is my friend
It doesn’t smile at all
I wouldn’t smile back
No harm done there

It’s perfect bliss here
No pretense or lies
You want to join me?
No! Get your own box.

4 thoughts on “My Own Box

Leave a Reply

